Bokamoso: “Happiness can make me feel as if my heart is bursting”

Bokamoso is 12 years old. He lives in Lesotho, in Southern Africa. Lesotho is situated in the Maloti mountains, and it is completely surrounded by its neighbor South Africa.
Bokamoso sent me a letter in English in which he describes in a beautiful way what happiness feels like to him. And he also shared a photo of him on which you can see his bright smile.

Bokamoso writes:

WHAT HAPPINESS MEANS TO ME
Happiness can make me feel as if my heart is bursting. I may have a warm glow inside. I feel like smiling or laughing. And i feel like hugging someone.

– Hi Bokamoso, I like your description of how happiness feels so much! 🙂 I could not have said it better. Hugs make me happy too. 🙂 And I’m sure you felt happy when the photo was taken, because you smile so beautifully. I hope that you smile and laugh often!
Big hug, Karina

And thank you to the organization Help Lesotho in Ottawa, Canada, that supports the youth of Lesotho and forwarded Bokamoso’s letter to me.

Leave a comment