Corinna: “Ich liebe auch Ferientage, weil ich ausschlafen kann” (I also love holidays because I can sleep in)

Corinna lives in Japan. She goes to grade 8 at the German School of Tokyo Yokohama. Yokohama lies south of Japan’s capital Tokyo.
Corinna wrote a letter in German about what is important to her to have a great day.

She writes:

A day for me
A great day for me is when I spend the day with my friends. For example, when we go shopping together, when we are in the leisure park or when we have an overnight stay. When I am at home alone the whole day and I am very productive. For example, when I tidy my room, I learn, I go running or I go outside with my dog. When at the end of the day I can watch TV and eat something great for dinner. A normal day is not so great for me because I sometimes have conflicts or get angry too fast when someone makes bad comments. I also love holidays because I can sleep in or watch TV the whole day. When I can do something just for myself and when I can bury my head in the sand. To make my day better when it maybe was not so great, I listen to music, I talk to my friends on the phone, or I watch something that makes me happy. And then get some good sleep at the end of the day.

Hi Corinna! Thank you for your letter! ❤ It made me think about that at your age the normal days are not so much fun sometimes. I guess every adult who thinks back to this time could acknowledge this. So, I don’t know if it makes it easier for you, but it is a common thing and it gets better! 🙂 I guess everyone between 13 and 16 years old had these days where you want to bury your head in the sand. But I think it is amazing that you already know so much about how you can make your day happier! Me too, I love to listen to music, talk to friends or watch one of my favourite films to make my day brighter when I need it. And I also like to spend time with my friends, to go running and to have something delicious for dinner. I hope that you will always have more happy days than those that are not so great, and that you can often enjoy the things you like to do.
Sending you a big hug and lots of love, Karina

Leave a comment